Recent Posts

Ministerial merry-go-round at DEFRA and the DfT

On September 25, 2018, in DEFRA, DfT, Parliament, by PeterSilverman

DEFRA ministers with responsibility for litter since Jan 1st 2010:

Jim Fitzpatrick MP    to May 2010
Lord Henley   May 2010 – Sep 2010
Lord Taylor of Holbeach   Sep 2011 – Sep 2012
Lord de Mauley   Sep 2012 – Oct 2013
Dan Rogerson MP   Oct 2013 – May 2015
Rory Stewart MP   May 2015 – July 2016
Lord Gardiner of Kimble   July 2016 – June 2017
Thérèse Coffey MP   June 2017 – Present

Average time in the job 1 year and 1 month

Source:  FOI Act enquiry

Department for Transport ministers with responsibility for Roads including Highways England since Jan 1st 2010:

Chris Mole MP
Mike Penning MP
Stephen Hammond MP
Norman Baker MP
Robert Goodwill MP
John Hayes MP
Andrew Jones
Jesse Norman MP  June 2017 – May 2019
Michael Ellis  May 2019 – present

Average time in the job 1 year and one month

Source: Desk research – the DfT did not hold this information

Peter Silverman
9th July  2019


Comments are closed.