Posts

30/03/2011 – From Mike Penning

The group’s (performance monitoring group’s) role wil be considered as part of the proposed independent review to determine whether the Government has the most appropriate approach to the operation, maintenance and enhancement of the strategic roads network.

11/04/2100 –  to Mike Penning

Could you also please keep me posted on the “proposed independent review to determine whether the Government has the most appropriate approach to the operation, maintenance and enhancement of the strategic roads net work”.

Who will be heading up this review and how can I ensure that I am able to make a contribution to their deliberations?

17/06/2011 – to Mike Penning

My e-mail of 11th April 2011 – I think this e-mail may have been overlooked. A response would be very much appreciated.

08/07/2011 – to Mike Penning

.. I would very much appreciate an acknowledgement of my e-mail of 17th June and an indication as to when I can expect a reply.

28/07/2011 – to Philip Hammond

 Alan Cook’s independant review of the Highways Agency

In his letter to me of 30th March Mike Penning referred to a  “proposed independent review to determine whether the Government has the most appropriate approach to the operation, maintenance and enhancement of the strategic roads network”.

wrote back on  11th April 2011 asking “Who will be heading up this review and how can I ensure that I am able to make a contribution to their deliberations? “

On 17th June  I wrote to him saying   “My e-mail of 11th April 2011 – I think this e-mail may have been overlooked.  A response would be very much appreciated”.

On 8th July, still having hear nothing, I wrote saying “ I would very much appreciate an acknowledgement of my e-mail of 17th June and an indication as to when I can expect a reply”.  I have heard nothing subsequently.

I recently discovered an announcement dated 30th March on the Highways Agency web site saying that  “ In the coming financial year, key highlights in the Business Plan include:   an independent review of the Agency carried out by the new non-executive chairman, with recommendations to be made to the Secretary of State for Transport in October”.   No contact details were given for the Chairman, Alan Cook.

As his report will be made to you I am sure that you will want it to be informed by as wide a range of opinions and expertise as possible.  Could you therefore please provide me with Alan Cook’s contact details, preferably an  e-mail address, so that I can write to him directly and in confidence.

22/08/2011 – to Philip Hammond’s office (after telephoning and speaking to one of his staff)

Alan Cook’s independant review of the Highways Agency – Alan Cook’s e-mail address. I picked up your message that Alan Cook’s could be contacted by post at the Highways Agency. Thank you for that.

However, I had said in my e-mail to the Secretary of State that I would prefer Mr Cook’s  e-mail address.  Can you let me have it please?  If Mr Cook  is concerned about it being made public I would be happy to undertake not to publish it or pass it on to anyone else.

05/09/2011 – From Robert Castleman, Highways Agency

I am writing to you in response to your e-mail to the Secretary of State for Transport of 28 July and the previous correspondence you reference…..

 Independent Review of the Highways Agency  –   Thank for your interest in contributing to the Highways Agency Review.  I suggest that you speak directly to the Review Lead, Richard Buckley on 0207 944 8859 richard.buckley@dft.gsi.gov.uk or to team member Patrick Curry on 0207 944 6908 patrick.curry@dft.gsi.gov.uk in order to feed in your views.

A result at last!!!!

It took 5 months, 5 e-mails and a telephone call to obtain the contact details of the team undertaking the review of the Highways Agency

 

 

Comments are closed.